Hosts Czech Republic learn fate in Men's U21 World Championship draw


The draw ceremony was held at the New Town Hall of Brno on Wednesday

Brno, Czech Republic, May 31, 2017 - Hosts the Czech Republic will take on Poland, Canada and Morocco in Pool A of the FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship in Brno and České Budějovice in the Czech Republic from June 23 to July 2 after a draw was held on Wednesday.

"It is a great celebration for Czech Republic hosting such a big tournament and that is why we are all very pleased," said Czech Volleyball Federation President Marek Pakosta.

Brno Mayor Petr Vokřál and Michal Šebek, member of the Council of the City of České Budějovice, attended the ceremony as guests of honour. "For Brno this championship is the biggest tournament of the year and in the future we would like to welcome here another one, maybe in one step higher category,“ said Vokřál.

Quick links - Volleyball:
FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship - Volleyball

Latest Videos




Media Guides

Commenting on the results of the draw, Czech head coach Ivan Pelikán said: "Poland is in the long term a very strong volleyball country and will belong also in this tournament to the medal aspirants. Canada is playing an attractive and athletic style of volleyball and Morocco is for us a bit unknown – because they replaced Slovenia at the very last moment."

The 19th edition of the Men's U21 World Championship due to be held in Brno and Ceské Budejovice is set to gather the best teams from each continent, including hosts the Czech Republic, Italy, Poland, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine from Europe, Argentina and Brazil from South America, Canada, Cuba and USA from the NORCECA Volleyball Confederation, China, Iran and Japan from Asia and Egypt and Morocco from Africa.

Russia were the winners in 2015 when the competition was held in Tijuana and Mexicali, Mexico, finishing ahead of Argentina and China. Russia have won the competition nine times in total (including four victories as the USSR). Brazil have five gold medals, Poland two, Bulgaria and Korea one each.


All the News